Great Tools Heavily Used In Japan, You Don't Know.

20 minutes

Beginner

English 

In this talk, I'd like to introduce the audience to modules and tools that are heavily used in Japan, but not so much elsewhere.

Recently we have been maintaining the "awesome-perl" list, which is a collection of some Perl related modules and tools. When we analyze the pull requests and issues filed for this project, there are clearly a big divide between Japan and elsewhere in terms of what modules/tools we think are important. This could potentially means that we're missing out on opportunities to use some great alternatives to what we normally use.

In this talk, I'd like to compare and contrast some tools that are defacto and heavily used in Japan, and its counterpart elsewhere. You may be able to find some new tools that just might fit your needs.

If you are interested in learning about modules and tools that are not as well known in the European/US communities, or if you're interested in what kind of weird stuff we use in Japan, this talk is for you. 

[ Talk ]
Attended by:
Leon Timmermans (‎leont‎)
Peter Makholm (‎brother‎)
H.Merijn Brand (‎Tux‎)
Aaron Crane (‎arc‎)
Michael Scoltock (‎mscolly‎)
Salvador Fandiño (‎salva‎)
only fore
Leo Lapworth (‎Ranguard‎)
Jose Luis Perez Diez (‎jluis‎)
Patrick Mevzek
Lee Johnson
Anthony Lucas (‎hor|zon‎)
Vidar Tyldum (‎tyldum‎)
Ali Zia
Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎)
Alex Muntada (‎alexm‎)
Alba Ferrer (‎alba‎)
osfameron
Jose Luis Martinez Torres (‎JLMARTIN‎)
Kerstin Puschke (‎titanoboa‎)
Diego Kuperman (‎diegok‎)
H. Daniel Cesario (‎dcesario‎)
Manfred Heumann (‎confuseAcat‎)
Nicholas Clark
Cristina Nunes (‎mega‎)
Andrew Nugged (nugged)
Thomas Heine
Jesper Dalberg
Bartosz Jakubski (‎migo‎)
Michael Jemmeson (‎michael‎)
Tomasz Czepiel (‎tjmc‎)
Ivan Dmitriev
Stevan Little (‎stevan‎)
Heinz Knutzen
Lukas Mai (‎mauke‎)
Choroba
Lars Thegler (‎tagg‎)
Andrew Solomon (‎illy‎)
Dotan Dimet (‎dotandimet‎)
Martin Waldherr (‎mwal‎)
Todd Rinaldo (‎toddr‎)
Mark Nettlingham
Rish
Stephen Hall (‎predix‎)
Tudor Constantin
Anatoly Grishaev
Oriol Soriano Vila (‎Uree‎)
Steffen Schwigon (‎renormalist‎)
Paolo Sinigaglia (‎psini‎)
Joaquín Ferrero (‎explorer‎)
István Almási (‎ialmasi‎)
Dmitry Karasik (‎McFist‎)
Olivier Duclos (‎odc‎)
Mike Chamberlain
Michal Jurosz (‎mj41‎)
Bart Wiegmans (‎brrt‎)
Kenta Sato (‎karupanerura‎)
Roland Schmitz (‎roli‎)
Annette Steinhauer
James E Keenan (‎kid51‎)
Mateu Hunter (‎mateu‎)
Nigel Gregoire
Nicoleta Maniu
Ilya Chesnokov (‎ichesnokov‎)
Eleatzar Colomer (‎eleatzar‎)
Wolfgang Pecho
Leif-Arne Utvik
Anton Berezin (‎Grrrr‎)
Roberto Henríquez
Iaroslav Poliakov
geira
Richard van Lochem
Dave Sherohman (‎dsheroh‎)
Miroslav Tynovsky
Maxim Vuets (‎mvuets‎)
Andreea Hosu
Rui Patinha (‎rfp‎)
Rikus Goodell
John Lightsey
Naim Shafiyev (‎shafiev‎)
Gligan Horea (‎Horea‎)
Henrik Andersen (‎HEM‎)
Max Maischein (‎Corion‎)
Martin Kjeldsen (‎baest‎)
Markus Förster
Hermen Lesscher (‎hermen‎)
Joeri de Bruin (‎dapperedodo‎)
John van Krieken (‎vladtz‎)
Paul Evans (‎LeoNerd‎)
Reini Urban (‎rurban‎)
Martin Cermak
Tom Hukins
Mihai Safta (‎SDCM‎)
Alberte Thegler
Mihai Pop
Martin Doppelreiter
Michal Špaček (‎skim‎)
Anatoliy Dmytriyev (‎tolid‎)
Kabir Sohel (‎Kabir‎)
Jan Henning Thorsen (‎batman‎)
R Geoffrey Avery (‎rGeoffrey‎)
Thomas Reifenberger
Steffen Winkler (‎STEFFENW‎)
Nuno Carvalho (‎smash‎)