Great Tools Heavily Used In Japan, You Don't Know.

20 minutes

Beginner

English 

In this talk, I'd like to introduce the audience to modules and tools that are heavily used in Japan, but not so much elsewhere.

Recently we have been maintaining the "awesome-perl" list, which is a collection of some Perl related modules and tools. When we analyze the pull requests and issues filed for this project, there are clearly a big divide between Japan and elsewhere in terms of what modules/tools we think are important. This could potentially means that we're missing out on opportunities to use some great alternatives to what we normally use.

In this talk, I'd like to compare and contrast some tools that are defacto and heavily used in Japan, and its counterpart elsewhere. You may be able to find some new tools that just might fit your needs.

If you are interested in learning about modules and tools that are not as well known in the European/US communities, or if you're interested in what kind of weird stuff we use in Japan, this talk is for you. 

[ Talk ]
Attended by:
Nicholas Clark
Aaron Crane (‎arc‎)
R Geoffrey Avery (‎rGeoffrey‎)
Salve J. Nilsen (‎sjn‎)
Leo Lapworth (‎Ranguard‎)
Lars Thegler (‎tagg‎)
H.Merijn Brand (‎Tux‎)
Tom Hukins
osfameron
Nuno Carvalho (‎smash‎)
Salvador Fandiño (‎salva‎)
Max Maischein (‎Corion‎)
Anton Berezin (‎Grrrr‎)
Diego Kuperman (‎diegok‎)
Roberto Henríquez
geira
Hermen Lesscher (‎hermen‎)
Joaquín Ferrero (‎explorer‎)
Dmitry Karasik (‎McFist‎)
James E Keenan (‎kid51‎)
Henrik Andersen (‎HEM‎)
Bartosz Jakubski (‎migo‎)
Steffen Winkler (‎STEFFENW‎)
Peter Makholm (‎brother‎)
Martin Kjeldsen (‎baest‎)
Markus Förster
Cristina Nunes (‎mega‎)
Todd Rinaldo (‎toddr‎)
Stevan Little (‎stevan‎)
Jan Henning Thorsen (‎batman‎)
John Lightsey
Thomas Heine
Steffen Schwigon (‎renormalist‎)
Lukas Mai (‎mauke‎)
Olivier Duclos (‎odc‎)
Michael Jemmeson (‎michael‎)
Naim Shafiyev (‎shafiev‎)
Maxim Vuets (‎mvuets‎)
Dave Sherohman (‎dsheroh‎)
Michael Scoltock (‎mscolly‎)
Mateu Hunter (‎mateu‎)
Anatoliy Dmytriyev (‎tolid‎)
Reini Urban (‎rurban‎)
Rui Patinha (‎rfp‎)
Leon Timmermans (‎leont‎)
Alex Muntada (‎alexm‎)
Andrew Solomon (‎illy‎)
Tomasz Czepiel (‎tjmc‎)
Paul Evans (‎LeoNerd‎)
John van Krieken (‎vladtz‎)
Roland Schmitz (‎roli‎)
Jose Luis Perez Diez (‎jluis‎)
confuseAcat
Ilya Chesnokov (‎ichesnokov‎)
Wolfgang Pecho
Alba Ferrer (‎alba‎)
Heinz Knutzen
Paolo Sinigaglia (‎psini‎)
Dotan Dimet (‎dotandimet‎)
Joeri de Bruin (‎dapperedodo‎)
Patrick Mevzek
Tudor Constantin
Michal Jurosz (‎mj41‎)
Jesper Dalberg
Kerstin Puschke (‎titanoboa‎)
Martin Waldherr (‎mwal‎)
Gligan Horea (‎Horea‎)
Anthony Lucas (‎Hor|zon‎)
Mihai Pop
Rikus Goodell
Mike Chamberlain
Andrew Nugged (nugged)
Iaroslav Poliakov
Ivan Dmitriev
Vidar Tyldum
Rish
Martin Cermak
Mihai Safta (‎SDCM‎)
Choroba
Miroslav Tynovsky
Lee Johnson
Michal Špaček (‎skim‎)
Thomas Reifenberger
Jose Luis Martinez Torres
Oriol Soriano Vila (‎Uree‎)
Richard van Lochem
István Almási
Andreea Hosu
Bart Wiegmans (‎brrt‎)
Eleatzar Colomer (‎eleatzar‎)
Kabir Sohel (‎Kabir‎)
Mark Nettlingham
Anatoly Grishaev
only fore
Ali Zia
Leif-Arne Utvik
H. Daniel Cesario (‎dcesario‎)
Martin Doppelreiter
Nigel Gregoire
Kenta Sato (‎karupanerura‎)
Annette Steinhauer
Nicoleta Maniu
Alberte Thegler
Stephen Hall (‎predix‎)