The Internet of Personification

By Matt S Trout (‎mst‎) from northwestengland.pm, dahut.pm, drinkers.pm, lgbt.pm
Date: Saturday, 8 November 2014 15:40
Duration: 50 minutes
Target audience: Any
Language: English
Tags: iot people stuff things wat


We treat our devices like small people, being angry when they fail and happy when they do what we want.

What if we designed our software the same way?


Attended by: Toby Inkster (‎tobyink‎), David Dorward, Pedro Figueiredo (‎pfig‎), Erik Colson (‎ecocode‎), James Green (‎jkg‎), Steven Humphrey, Dinis Rebolo (‎drebolo‎), Ulrich Habel (‎rhaen‎), Alex Balhatchet (‎Kaoru‎), vytas, Pierre Masci (‎mascip‎), Peter Mottram (‎SysPete‎), Peter Makholm (‎brother‎), Andrew Jones, Mohammad Anwar (‎manwar‎), Imran Chaudhry (‎icjs‎), Lukas Mai (‎mauke‎), Mike Whitaker (‎Penfold‎), Sam Kington (‎skington‎), Alex Burzyński (‎AJGB‎), Merlyn Kline, Paulo Favinha (‎Favinha‎), Gianni Ceccarelli (‎dakkar‎), Martin Brooks (‎SlayerXP‎), Tom Williams, Lars Thegler (‎tagg‎), Torbjørn Lindahl, Mark Stringer (‎mullet‎), James Mastros (‎theorbtwo‎), Leo Lapworth (‎ranguard‎), Peter Haworth (‎pmh1wheel‎), Marco Fontani (‎mfontani‎), Venkatesh R (‎Venki‎), Jarle Hakas, Ian Brierley, JJ Allen, steve mynott (‎itz‎), Aaron Crane (‎arc‎), Warren Humphreys (‎woz‎), mark ellis (‎n0body‎), Graeme Lawton (‎Grim‎), Hugo Areias (‎hugoareias‎), Daniel Collins (‎solemnwarning‎), Claes Jakobsson (‎claes‎), Dimitrios - Georgios Kontopoulos, Nikoletta Kourtidou, Taras Iagniuk (‎tiagniuk‎), Brian Manning (‎xaoc‎), Jess Robinson (‎castaway‎), Dagfinn Ilmari Mannsåker (‎ilmari‎), Søren Lund (‎slu‎),

Sponsors

Corporate

2nd Quadrant     antibodyMX     Booking.com     CV Library     Eligo     Exonetric     geek University     magnum Solutions     Nestoria     OpusVL     O'reilly Books     Perl Careers     Science Photo Library     Shadowcat
      Systems Limited     Smoothwall Limited

Community

Enlightened Perl Organisation     FlossUK     Perl6 Community